Welcome to the Tiwi Islands Regional Council

The Tiwi Islands Shire Council was created under legislation by the Northern Territory Government in July 2008 and now administers the two Tiwi islands, Bathurst and Melville, and the communities of Wurrumiyanga, Wurankuwu, Milikapiti (Snake Bay) and Pirlangimpi (Garden Point), as well as a number of smaller outstations on both islands.
The Tiwi Islands Regional Council was enabled under legislation passed by the Northern Territory Government in January 2014.

Recent Publications

Council Plan 2015-16
Program Budgets

Plan adopted by Council 29 July 2015

Council Plan and Program Budgets

Council Budget 2015-16

Budget adopted by Council 29 July 2015

Council Budget

Council Rates Declaration 2015-16
Rates Declaration

Council Fees and Charges 2015-16
Fees and Charges

The Tiwi Tide TIRC Council Newsletter
Jalawunyi The Tiwi Tide Council Newsletter May 2015

Call for nominations for vacancies in Local Authorities
Local Authorities

Council Budget 2014-15, Strategic Plan, Rates Declaration
and List of Fees and Charges 2014-15
2014 Workforce Development Plan
Council Documents

Tiwi Land Council Soil, Sand and Gravel Extraction Policy
Sand and Gravel Extraction Policy

Audit Committee

News on Regional Councils

Under recent State Government legislation, Council Local Boards have been reconstituted as Local Authorities under the auspice of the Tiwi Islands Regional Council.

Tiwi Traditions

"Ngawa kukunari ngini nuwa awungarra kapi nginingawula murrakupuni. Awi.
We are happy that you are here in our country, in our land. Talking to everybody "

Tiwi Greeting